Auctioneer Champions


Darren Rebalkin 2017 Auctioneering Champion accepts a host of awards.

Left to right; Ross Annett T-Down, Trailers; Sharon Bergevin, Foothills Auctioneers Inc.; Darren Rebalkin 2017 Champion; Megan Black, Canadian Simmental Association; Tessa Verbeek, Canadian Limousin Association; Chris Baker, Eby Trailers.

Darren Rebalkin
Sponsored by Meadow Lake Stockyards, Sask.

Darren Rebalkin: 2017 Canadian Livestock Auctioneering Champion

2017 LMAC Auctioneering Champion Darren Rebalkin graduated from the Western Canadian School of Auctioneering in Calgary in 1993.  For Darren, the auction business had always been part of his life, attending many cattle and farm auctions while growing up on the farm.  “The excitement of the auction and the auctioneer intrigued me, but never really thought that I could do it,” explained the 51 year-old champion.  He was employed as a heavy equipment operator back in ‘93, and in his words, “I was at a crossroads in my life and needed a career change.”  After exploring many career options, he decided to try his hand at auctioneering and enrolled at auction school.

After graduating from the auction school, Darren landed his first auction market job, starting at ground zero as an “alley rat” at Charlton Auction Service in Brooks, Alberta. “Johnny Charlton never let me sell a thing for the first two years.  During that time I was schooled in the operation of an auction market and learned to do every job around the market that there was.”

“At the farm sales I was with Johnny learning to book the sales and did what it took to conduct a successful sale for the patron. As time went on I was allowed to sell the small animals and all the household items and then eventually got into the cattle side of it.” 
“I've worked at various auction marts throughout Alberta and Saskatchewan over the years and have been involved in the commercial and heavy equipment side of the business which I feel has greatly influenced my ability as an all-round auctioneer, but the cattle business has always been my first love.” 

Rebalkin entered his only other LMAC auctioneering championship in 2008, which was hosted in Quebec. At that competition, he placed in the top 10.  This year Rebalkin was the clear winner; his deep commanding voice, smooth chant and professionalism earned him top spot in both rounds.

Rebalkin says that he entered the competition to basically showcase his ability to the industry and to network with old and new friends. “There is no better place to achieve that.” He is now focusing on making auctioneering his full time job.

He had these comments on the auction industry: “With modern technology taking hold of the auction business, I still believe that a good auctioneer and ring man can generate excitement and interest to truly maximize the full value of what it is you are selling.”

This year’s champion resides in Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, and was sponsored by Meadow Lake Stockyards from Saskatchewan.  
Darren Rebalkin was truly honoured and humbled to have been chosen as the 2017 Canadian Champion. “I am now part of an elite group of men and will be proud of all the others who will become part of this group in the future. Once again thank you to all the members of LMAC and to all the sponsors of this competition.” He is looking forward to meeting more LMAC members and industry partners as time goes on.


Jordie Walters

Kevin Mcarter

Kirk Goldsmith

Neil Woodrow

Ryan Konynenbelt

Rob Bergevin

Kolton MacIntosh

Rhett Parks

Scott Campbell

Faron Ward

Tyler Slawinski

Frederick Bodnarus

Albert Carroll

Eric Clouatre

Brock Taylor

Ryan Hurlburt



2016 Livestock Markets Association of Canada Canadian Livestock Auctioneering Championships
Bussels Livestock, Brussels Ontario

Round # 1

1.Ryan Konynenbelt – Southern Alberta Livestock Exchange


2. Ryan Hurlburt – Saskatoon Livestock Sales        


3.Kirk Goldsmith – Dryland Cattle Trading Corp. – Ab.   


4. Frederick Bodnarus – Spiritwood Auction Mart  - Sk  


5. Albert Carroll – Ontario Stockyards Inc.          


6. Tyler Slawinski – Gladstone Auction Mart – Mb     


7. Rob Bergevin – Foothills Auctioneers Inc. – Ab    


8. Jordie Waters – Foothills Auctioneers Inc./ VJV Ab 


9. Farron Ward – Chopper K Auctions – Sk.             


10. Rhett Parks – Whitewood Livestock Sales – Sk       


11. Scott Campbell – Fraser Auction Services – Mb       


12. Kolton McIntosh – Heartland Virden – Mb.            


13. Kevin Mcarter – Brussels Livestock  - Ont            


14. Neil Woodrow – Ontario Stockyards Inc.              


15. Eric Clouatre – Reseau Encans Quebec St. Hyacinthe      


16. Brock Taylor – Taylor Auctions & Exports  - Mb.         


Round 2


1. Ryan Hurlburt – Saskatoon Livestock Sales                     


2. Kirk Goldsmith – Dryland Cattle Trading Corp. – Ab.     


3. Ryan Konynenbelt – S.A.L.E                                                  


4. Albert Carroll – Ontario Stockyards Inc.                            


5. Tyler Slawinski – Gladstone Auction Mart – Mb                


6. Farron Ward – Chopper K Auctions – Sk.                           


7. Rob Bergevin – Foothills Auctioneers Inc. – Ab             


8.  Rhett Parks – Whitewood Livestock Sales – Sk               


9.  Frederick Bodnarus – Spiritwood Auction Mart  - Sk     


10. Jordie Waters – Foothills Auctioneers Inc./ VJV Ab         





Past Auctioneer Champions


Year Champion Venue
1998 Dan Skeels, Rimby, AB Winnipeg, MB
1999 Tony Chaffe, Lucknow, ON Ottawa, ON
2000 Cory Lawrence, Warburg, AB Ponoka, AB
2001 Peter Raffan, Armstrong, BC Kamloops, BC
2002 Des Plewman, Weyburn, SK Assiniboia, SK
2003 Don Oberg, Lacombe, AB Brandon, MB
2004 Ross Annett, Brooks, AB Waterloo, ON
2005 Ward Cutler, Virden, MB Ponoka, AB
2006 Dean Edge, Rimby, AB Kamloops, BC
2007 Brad Stenberg, Kronau, SK Saskatoon SK.
2008 Andy Carter, Amherst, NS St-Isidore, QC
2009 Chance Martin, Red Deer, AB Brooks, AB
2010 Rodney Burnett, Armstrong, BC Winnipeg, MB
2011 Brennin Jack, Regina SK Waterloo, ON
2012 Justin Gattey, Ponoka, AB Stavely, AB
2013 Travis Rogers, Clyde, AB Calgary, AB
2014 Shawn Gist, Fort Saskatchewan,AB Moosejaw,SK
2015 Calvin Kuepfer Waterloo Ont. Winnipeg MB
2016 Ryan Hurlburt, Saskatoon Brussels Ont.